Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
BSA Banner
Home»Districts»North Star»Advance as a Scout

Advance as a Scout​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

District Advancement & Recognition Chairman:  John Kavanaugh

Eagle Scout Patch.jpg


Eagle Scout is the highest rank attainable in the Boy Scouting program.  Requirements include earning at least 21 merit badges and managing an extensive service project.  A Scout must meet with the Eagle Scout Board of Review twice - once to approve the service project and facilitate the application and once to acknowledge completion.  It is strongly recommended that the Scout attend a Life-to-Eagle Scout Seminar to understand the application process.  Click here for more information about the application process.
The Scout must turn in the project guidelines and final review papers (e.g. merit badge cards and application) to a BSA office no later than two weeks before the final Eagle Scout Board of Review date.
Eagle Scout Boards of Review are held on the second Sunday of each month at 1:30 p.m. at St. Andrew United Methodist Church (3975 N. Hwy 67/Lindbergh, Florissant, MO  63034) unless noted otherwise on our events calendar.  Contact Eagle Scout Board of Review Chairman Randy Baumgarth at 314-830-0305 to schedule an appointment or for more info. 

Cub Scout Advancement -- On the advancement trail, a Cub Scout progresses from rank to rank. The first rank every boy earns is Bobcat; then he strives to earn Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos ranks depending on his grade.  His handbook is the best resource for understanding what achievements he can and should work towards.  A Cub Scout of any age can learn new skills, become a better scholar, learn sportsmanship, and have a lot of fun while also earning recognition through the Academics and Sports Program.  By completing certain requirements in areas that interest him, a Scout can earn belt loops and/or sports pins to wear on his uniform.  The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light.  Earning this prepares a Webelos Scout to become a Boy Scout.  Learn more on our national site.
Boy Scout Advancement -- Advancement is one of the most important parts of the Boy Scouting program.  A young man progresses from rank to rank:  Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle.  Along the journey he learns life skills through merit badges and service projects. Each achievement develops character and builds self confidence.  Learn more on our national site.
Venturing Advancement/Recognition -- The Venturing awards program includes Bronze, Gold, and Silver awards. There are five different Venturing Bronze awards:  Arts and Hobbies, Outdoor, Sea Scouts, Sports, and Religious Life.  A Venturer may earn all five!  Gold is the intermediate level and requirements are based on personal development, leadership, and service.  Silver is the highest award for Venturers.  In addition to earning a Bronze and Gold award, Venturers must do additional work in the areas of leadership, emergency preparedness, and ethics.  Venturers may also earn significant awards such as Ranger, Quest, TRUST, and the Sea Scouting Quartermaster awards.  Learn more at our national site.

Religious Emblems Programs -- Religious awards bring Scouts closer to their faith in a way that is familiar and rewarding.  A variety of programs are available for Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, and Venturers.  Learn more on our national site​ or contact District Religious Emblems Coordinator Bill Blackburn at 314-814-1890.

Swimming Instruction.jpg

Looking for information about the North Star District Swimming Skills CenterClick here.