Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
BSA Banner
Home»Scouts»Boy Scouts»Bronze Hornaday Award

Bronze Hornaday Award

The Greater St. Louis Area Council congratulates Michael Grogan on the award of his Bronze Hornaday Conservation Medal by the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America.
Michael received his award at ArrowCorp5 Bridger-Teton, presented to him by Tim Beaty of the United States Forest Service, who is a Scouter and chairman of the Hornaday Awards.
Tim Beaty (left), United States Forest Service, presents the Hornaday Award to Michael Grogan.

Michael’s conservation projects include:

  • Invasive Species — 405.5 hours, of which he did 60.6 himself: honeysuckle eradication at Powder Valley Conservation Center and Beckemaier Farm Conservation Area
  • Soil & Water Erosion — 137.3 hours, of which he did 31.8 himself: Klamberg Trail Water Bars, Blue Bird Park; Turkey Ridge Trail Water Grade Dips, Rockwood Reservation
  • Recycling — 149.8 hours, of which he did 30.2 himself: restoration of pond benches, Clarkson Crossing; aluminum can and plastic bottle recycling, Bonhomme Church; E-Cycling, Chesterfield Arbor Day
  • Wildlife & Forestry — 160.8 hours, of which he did 39.7 himself: distribution of native tree saplings, Chesterfield Arbor Day; backyard wildlife habitat display, Faust Park & Chesterfield City Hall
In addition to the 162 hours he expended personally working his projects, Michael also needed to earn a number of related merit badges: Environmental Science, Forestry, Public Health, Soil & Water Conservation, Pulp & Paper and Weather, plus the ecology and plant & wildlife requirements from the Venturing Ranger Award.
He spent a further 108 hours coordinating and organizing all of this projects, with 90 more spent documenting his final report and preparing his application. Michael describes this as “the hardest thing I has ever done.”
Michael admits that he could not have completed this award without the help and guidance of many others — especially Rob Emmett, his conservation adviser from the Missouri Department of Conservation.
Others who helped him greatly in completing this award include Erin Shank, Missouri Department of Conservation; Darcy Capstick, chair of the city of Chesterfield’s Committee of Concerned Citizens for the Environment; and Ray Kreienkamp, 2007-08 chief of the New Horizon District’s Chapter of the Order of the Arrow.
Michael also thanks all of the other Scouts and Scouters who took part in his projects — especially his home Troop 597, chartered to Ascension Catholic Church, and his home Crew 840, chartered to Bonhomme Presbyterian Church.
After completing his Hornaday Award, Michael continued to coordinate and lead three of his projects once again this year (at the Beckemaier Farm, Chesterfield Arbor Day and the Bonhomme church). He also volunteered to serve at both Shawnee Lodge One-Day-of-Service Conservation Projects at Johnson-Shut-Ins. Last summer Michael completed his Conservation USA certification training while attending the O.A. National Conservation and Leadership Summit (NCLS) at Indiana University in order to qualify to serve as a squad leader for the staff of the ArrowCorps5 Service Project in the Bridger-Teton National Forest.
Michael’s other notable Scouting achievements include Eagle Scout with 11 Eagle Palms, Varsity Scout Denali Medal, all four National Catholic Committee on Scouting (NCCS) Scout Religious Awards, all four God & Country Scout Awards, the BSA Triple Crown of high adventure (Philmont, Northern Tier and Florida Sea Base), the Congressional Gold Medal for Community Service, Brotherhood in the Order of the Arrow, and the National Youth Leadership Training (NYLT) veteran staff pin for five years of volunteer service.
The National Council describes the Hornaday Award as being “equivalent to an Olympic medal bestowed by the earth.” Only 1,100 of these medals have been issued in the 91-yer history of the award. It has been more than 15 years since a Hornaday Award was presented to a Scout or Venturer from the Greater St. Louis Area Council.