Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Help (new window)
Sign In
BSA Banner
Home»Scouts»Eagle Scouts

Eagle Scouts

Eagle Scout Medal

Helpful Links:

National Eagle Scout Association

St. Louis Eagle Scout Association

The rank of Eagle Scout is the highest achievement a Boy Scout can earn. More than 2 million young men earned this rank during the Boy Scouts of America's first 100 years of existence, and more than 500 young men in our council earn the rank each year. However, only 2 percent of all who join the Boy Scouts of America programs earn the award.

Learn more about the requirements to be come an Eagle Scout...

Information on the St. Louis Eagle Scout Association

Eagle Scout Application

Eagle Scout Workbook - Fillable Form

Eagle Scout Workbook - Download and Complete


Effective Jan. 1, 2014, the Cooking merit badge will be required in order to obtain the Eagle Scout rank.

  • What about Scouts who started working on Eagle before 2014?
    • Regardless of when a Scout earned the Life rank or began working on Eagle, unless he fulfills all the requirements—with the exception of his board of review—before Jan. 1, 2014, he must earn the Cooking merit badge to become an Eagle Scout.
  • Have the Cooking merit badge requirements changed?
    •  Yes.
  • Which version or requirements count?
    • The new requirements become effective Jan. 1, 2014, with the release of Boy Scout Requirements, No. 34765. The Boy Scouts of America allows the following options for the period of time between the release of the revised pamphlet and the Jan. 1, 2014, effective date:
      • If Scouts have already started on the merit badge, they may switch to the new requirements or continue with the old ones until the badge is completed.
      • If Scouts have not already started on the merit badge, they may opt to use the new requirements and the new pamphlet.
      • If work on the merit badge begins before Jan. 1, 2014, they may use the old requirements and old pamphlet until the badge is completed.
    • The Guide to Advancement, under the same topic, goes on to say, “There is no time limit between starting and completing a badge, although a counselor may determine so much time has passed since any effort took place that the new requirements must be used.” This will apply to Cooking as well.
  • Let’s say a Scout has already earned Cooking. Will he have to re-earn it with the revised requirements to earn Eagle?
    • No. Scouts completing the requirements for the Eagle Scout rank after Jan. 1, 2014, must earn the Cooking merit badge under either the existing requirements or under the requirements as revised during 2013. Scouts are not required to earn the badge under the new requirement in order to qualify for Eagle.

Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award

The National Eagle Scout Association established this award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes the Scout for his Eagle Scout leadership service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each local council will choose a council-level winner, and from that pool, each region will pick a region-level winner. A national winner then will be selected from the four regional finalists.
Download an Adams Award Application

Check out the new Eagle Trail Specialty Camp!